The motorsport season in 2013 is coming to a close and with most championships having been decided, we take a look around the globe to see which teams and drivers used Öhlins equipment to become champions on four wheels...

Last man standing…

In the world of Endurance racing, the Audi squad of Tom Kristensen, Allan McNish and Loïc Duval had a perfect season. After having won the Le Mans 24-hour race, which was Duval's first win in the classic, McNish's third and an incredible ninth for Kristensen, the trio went on to claim the World Endurance title with a round to go.

While looking at Endurance, in Japan Yuji Tacikawa and Kohei Hirate won the Japanese SuperGT500 in the Lexus and in the Gt300 category, Hideki Mutoh and Yuhki Nakayama won in their Hondas.

At this years Nürburgring 24-hours, the Peugeot 208 GTI team of Christiann Frankenhout, Vincent Radermecker, Johnny Niderhauser and Giacomo Ricci won the SP2T class. Overall the Marc VDS entered BMW Z4 GT3 driven by Max Martin, Richard Göransson, Andrea Piccini and Yelmer Buurman starred in the rain when they eventually finished second overall in the classic.

It's a dirty business…

Rallycross has had a big lift this year after IMG stepped in to promote the European Championship. With fields expanding with the powerful and sensational Rallycross cars, the championship battle over the nine rounds was exciting. Big names joined the Championship from both the racing and rally world, but in the end it was Russian rallycross specialist Timur Timerzyanov who was crowned the European champion in his Citroën DS3. For next year the series moves on to be a World Championship, and already more drivers, teams and manufacturers have announced they will be competing.

It's Muller Time again…

Frenchman Yvan Muller took his fourth WTCC-title in 2013 in what on paper looked like an easy season for him andthe RML Chevrolet team. However, Muller himself claimed this was the most satisfying and hardest WTCC-title yet due to the amount of work needed by Muller and RML before the season even began.

Muller won seven races during the season and finished comfortably ahead of his rivals. He now moves to Citroën for next year as they join the WTCC.

And speaking of touring cars, in the Italian Superstars series former F1-driver Gianni Morbidelli claimed the title in his Audi RS5.

In the land of the rising sun…

Öhlins Japanese distributor Carozzeria has a long and successful history in the Formula Nippon and Super GT paddocks and this year was no exception. In the main Japanese single seater championship, Super Formula (previously Formula Nippon), it was once again Öhlins TTR runners on top.

With Andre Lotterer and Loïc Duval away on Audi duties it was Naoki Yamamoto who claimed the title in the end. Despite missing the final round, Lotterer finished second overall with Duval third.

Record Breakers…

There wasn't much doubt beforehand that they would do it but still it had to be done.

Peugeot Sport and seven-time rally world champion Sébastien Loeb teamed up for a record run in the Pikes Peak classic mountain climb. The extreme Peugeot 208 T16 Pikes Peak stormed to a record run of 8:13.878 up the mountain, best described in this video from Peugeot.